Tax policy competition finalists announced by minister

Tax policy competition finalists announced by minister

Tax policy competition finalists announced by minister 600 400 Lee Stace

Minister of Revenue Judith Collins has announced the finalists for the 2017 Tax Policy Competition.

They are:

  • Talia Smart (Inland Revenue)
  • Nicholas Coyle (Inland Revenue)
  • Matt Woolley (Treasury)
  • Chris Park (PwC).

The finalists were announced during a live stream of events simultaneously held in Wellington and Auckland.

Smart’s proposal looked at removing the business income exemption for charities and Coyle’s reconsidered the clawback of interest deductions. Woolley discussed full corporate-personal tax integration and Park revisited the idea of a land tax.

IRD Commissioner Naomi Ferguson and Tax Policy Scholarship Charitable Trust (TPSCT) Chair and former PwC Chair John Shewan were the other notable attendees. Shewan delivered the opening address.

The finalists will present their full proposals to a heavyweight judging panel during the awards dinner in Wellington on 17 October.

Joining Shewan on the panel are:

  • Ex-Bell Gully Tax Partner Joanne Hodge.
  • Former IRD Deputy Commissioner Robin Oliver.
  • Victoria University Business School Dean Bob Buckle.
  • Ex-Secretary of Treasury John Whitehead.

The winner will receive $10,000, the runner-up $4000 and the other finalists $1000 each.

This is the second time the TPSCT has held the competition. The first was in 2015.

About the 2017 Tax Policy Competition

The TPSCT last year invited tax professionals under the age of 35 working in the public and private sector or academia to submit their progressive and innovative tax reform ideas.

As 2017 is an election year, candidates were asked to outline a significant reform of the New Zealand tax system that considered  the political and social environment as well as the impact on compliance costs.

They then submitted a 1500-word outline of their proposal earlier this year.

The judges received 25 applications.

Tax Management NZ and its Founder Director Ian Kuperus established the TPSCT in 2012 to inspire the next generation of leaders in New Zealand tax policy and administration.

Lee Stace

Lee Stace is the PR and Content Manager at Tax Management NZ.

All posts by: Lee Stace